Skip to content

‘Mills Mess’ at Aldeburgh Festival – 22 June 2018

Britten-Pears Young Artists Alumni II

A celebration of Oliver Knussen and Colin Matthews’ flagship Contemporary Composition and Performance course at Snape Maltings is a fitting and potent blend of new music by emerging new generation of composers alongside works by musical figureheads.  Seven world premieres are prefaced by Harrison Birtwistle’s playful perpetual motion and enveloped in the velvety stillness and ghostly apparitions conjured by Abrahamsen and Dallapiccola in their night music.

Jonathan Berman conductor
Instrumentalists from the Britten-Pears Young Artists Programme

Harrison Birtwistle Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum
Dallapiccola Piccola Musica Notturna
Patrick Friel A Line Alive (world premiere)
Joseph Howard Painkiller (world premiere)
Patrick John Jones Betelgeuse Astral Funicular (world premiere)
Hans Abrahamsen Winternacht
Berio Berceuse for György Kurtág
Joel Järventausta Tumma (world premiere)
Ryan Latimer tbc (world premiere)
Lara Poe Mirror Rim (world premiere)
Angela Slater Soaring in Stasis (world premiere)

Friday 22 June 2018 – 11.00am
From £5.00 to £16.00
Britten Studio


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s